Snowdrops

snowdrop-1

In an ideal world, on every day of the year, I would have on my kitchen table a jam jar posy of flowers from my garden. That is not to say that it is impossible, even with a small garden, but it doesn’t happen in my home … yet. It must surely be the best way to observe plants at close quarters and out of context – to look with a fresh eye and an open mind. Snowdrops are one of the best examples for such a study as any warmth indoors encourages them to fling open their petals to reveal their full beauty.

I was going to call this post Galanthus nivalis as I mostly like the latin names for plants and do use them often, however, I just think Snowdrops is a much prettier word.

14 thoughts on “Snowdrops

  1. It’s a beautiful theme Ann. I love the ‘clean’ ones as they don’t compete with the photographs. I loved the photo of the sweet Snowdrops – I agree that in this case the common name suits this little flower the best.

    – Kate

    Like

  2. Oh, I can’t believe I missed your snowdrops post this long…! Splendid shot of the pristine little beauties 🙂 I think the new theme works quite well with your style and photography; you make me want to overhaul my blog for the new year too…

    Like

Leave a Reply

